State of Lovisiana

Lovisiana State Board of Cosmetology
11622 Sunbelt Court, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
[225) 756-3404 Telephone - [225) 756-3410 Fax
Web Address: www.lsbe. louisiana.gov

APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCITY - INSTRUCTOR

| hereby make application to the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology for certification of registration under the law of the
State of Louisiana, and attach all requirements, together with a money order, or cashier's check, made payable to the
Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology.

PLLEASE PRINT

Applicant's Fult Name

First Name Middle Name Maiden Name Last Name
Current Mailing Address
City State _ Zip Code
Daytime Telephone Number (Include Area Code)
Date of Birth Gender 0O Male 0O Female Social Security Number____ - -

State Where Training was Acquired

School Name City State
State(s) in which currently Licensed {if applicable)

PLEASE ANSWER YES OR NO

1. Have you ever been convicted of, or placed on probation, for a felony offense? OYes ONo
If the answer is YES, attach an explanation and records stating that you met your court directed obligations.

2. Have you obtained or attempted to ottain a certificate of registraﬁon {license) 0 Yes 0 No
by means of fraud?
If the answer is YES, attach an explanation and recerds stating that you met your court directed obligations.

3. Have you had a license, certification of registration suspended, revoked, or denied 0Yes O No
in any state?
If the answer is YES, attach an explanation and records stating that you met your court directed obligations.

| have included the following items:

a current piciure

a copy of my drivers license or government issued id card
a copy of my social security card

my current original instructor license

certification from the state that | received my training

the correct fee amount.

O

[}

o

By signing this application, | certify that the information provided above is true and accurate under penalty of perjury. 1 also
certify that | am aware that it is a violation of the Louisiana Cosmetology Laws for an individual to work without a valid
Louisiana cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician or instructor license.

DATE SIGNATURE




State of Lovisiana

Lovisiana State Board of Cosmetology
11622 sunbelt Court, Beion Rouge, LA 70807
[225) 756-3404 Telephone - (225) 756-3410 Fox
Web Address: www.isbe. fouisiana. gov

Dear Applicant:

Please be advised that af the Board Meeting on April 12, 2010, a mction was passed that
changed the requirements for testing for applicants fransfeming their license to Louisiana.

The changes are as foliows:

1. Any individual who shows proof that they have taken a NIC Naticnal Examination will be
exempiad from the nalional theory exam. The state written examination will be the only
exam required o transfer the license.

2. Anyindividual who js not able 1o show proof that a NIC National Examination was faken
will be required to take the following: NIC Notional Exam and the State Exam{LA rules
and regulafions). '

This agency will accept the following as proof of the NIC Examination:
1. A ceriification from the state that you were originally licensed in with a score fisted and
notation that states this is the NIC score.
2. Ascore sheet received by the student from NIC testing company.

The fees are s follows:’

If you have proof that you took the NIC exam:

RESIDENT-(subbmits LA Driver's License or Id Card) NON-RESIDENT-{submits out of state)
State Exam Fee $25.00 State Exam Fee $25.00
License Fee $25.00 License Fee $50.00

$50.00 $75.00

If you DO NOT have proof that you took the NIC exam:

RESIDENT NON-RESIDENT

National Exam Fee  $25.00 National Exam Fee  $25.00

State Exam Fee 25.00 State Exam Fee 25.00

license Fee 25.00 License Fee 50.00
$75.00 $100.00

If you have any questions, please don'i hesitale to confact us.
Sincerely,

LSBC
Director



State of Lovuisiana

Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
11622 Sunbelt Court, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
(225) 756-3404 Telephone - (225) 756-3410 Fax
Web Address: www.lsbc fouisiana.gov

Bobby Jindat
Governor
Frances K. Hand, Chairman Taguilla F. Hamilton  Geneva L. Jones Carolyn L. Robicheaux
Denham Springs LA Harvey LA Benion LA . Baldwin LA
Vivian L. Glaze, Vice Chairman Michael Hormning Sarah Kennison ira Weber Stephen Young
Pineville LA Franklinton, LA Lake Charles, LA Metairie, LA Executive Director

March 1, 2011

To Whom It May Concern:

On February 28, 2011 the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology changed the {Reciprocity Policy) for the
State of Louisiana. The change is limited to Manicurists and Esthetics license only. Louisiana will no
longer accept applications for license transfer from states that do not require the (NIC) national
standard theory test for licensure.

This change does not affect a cosmetology license.

All applications for transfer of license from a state not requiring the NIC theory test will be returned
without action. This regulation shall be in place until further notice.

=

Stephen Young, Di r



State of Louisiana

Lovuisiana State Board of Cosmeiology
114622 Sunbelt Court, Boton Rouge, LA 70809
(225) 756-3404 Telephone - {225) 756-3410 Fax
Web Address: www.lsbc. Jouisigng.gov

Bobby Jindai
Governor
Frances K. Hand, Chairman Sarah Kennison Taquilla E. Hamilfon  Carolyn L. Robicheaux Stephen Young
Penham Springs, LA Lake Charles, LA Harvey, LA Baldwin LA Executive Director
Vivian L. Glaze, Vice Chairman Geneva L. Jones  Michael Horning Ira Weber
Fineville, LA Benton, LA Franklinton, LA Metalrie, LA

EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY

THE LOUISJANA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY DURING A SPECIAL CALL MEETING ON February
28, 2011, PASSED THE FOLLOWING RESOLUTION.

MANICURIST AND ESTHETICIANS ONLY

RECIPROCITY RIGHTS FOR ALL STATES THAT DO NOT TEST WITH THE NIC NATIONAL STANDARD
THEORY TEST ARE SUSPENDED, THOSE STATES ARE: CALIFORNIA{until May 2, 200%-present give
NIC), COLORADQO, CONNECTICUT, FLGRIDA, HAWAIL, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY,
MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, NEW JERSEY, NEW YORK, TENNESSEE,
TEXAS, VERMONT AND WISCONSIN.

ALL APPLICATIONS RECEIVED FROM THESE STATES SHALL BE RETURNED WITHOUT ACTION. NO TIME
REFERENCE WAS GIVEN BY THE BOARD AND THIS ORER SHALL REMAIN IN EFFECT UNTIL FUTURE
NOTICE.

Sincerely,

Sy
Stephen Yo unm



Bobby Jindal
Governor

State cf Louisiana

Louisiana Stafe Board of Cosmetology
11422 Sunbelt Court, Baion Rouge, LA 70807
(225} 756-3404 Telephone - [225) 754-3410 Fax
Weh Address: www. lsbe. fouisiana.qov

Frances K. Hand, Chairman
Denham Springs LA

Sarah Kennison Taquilie F. Hamillen  Carolyn L. Robicheaux
lake Charles, LA Harvey LA Baldwin LA Stephen Young
Assistant Direcior
Michael Horning

Franidinton, LA

Vivian L. Glaze Geneva L Jones
Pineville LA Benton LA

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

On February 2011, the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology changed the Reciprocity Policy for the State
of Louisiana. The change is limited to Manicurist and Esthetician licenses only. We will no longer accept
applications for license transfer from states that do not require the NIC-National standard theory test for

licensure.

The change is also in effect for those applicants who have already submitted and may have taken the test but
 failed to pass the NIC-National. The new policy states that any person who has failed to pass the exam or who
has taken this exam 3 or more times, must go to a Louisiana Beauty School and attend for a minimum of 250

hours. Once you have completed the hours, the school may send in your request and funds for testing.

All applications received from states not requiring the NIC-National test will be returned without action, but if
- your payment was processed a refund will be issued. :

Thank You,

ST
Stephen Young, Di r .



State of Louisiana

Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
11622 Sunbelt Court, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
{225) 756-3404 Telephone - (225} 756-3410 Fax
Web Address: www.lsbe.louisiang gov

The NIC National Test: Simply the best!

- Thirty-six states, the District of Cotlumbia, and Guam now use NIC National
- Tests. Highly defensible and based on an industry job analyses, National
Tests can make state-to-state reciprocity a reality.

;
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FOR THE STATES THAT WE HAVE THE MOST TRANSFERS FROM:

Persons wh?» I;sav a Texas, Florida, Tennessee or California license that wish to transfer their license to Louisiana
Must take the e examination because your state does not administer the NIC national examination. We are able +&
Verify your license online so you do not have to submit the certification from the state that you received your training.



RECIPROCITY - National Interstate Council Exams

Year 2010
NAME OF TYPE OF WRITTEN EXAM
STATE Cosmetology Esthetician Nail Tech/ Instructor
Manicuring
Alabama X X X X
Alaska * X X X
Arizona X X X X
Arkansas X X X X
California X X X X
Colorado
Connecticut ]
Delaware X X X X
bC X X X ‘ X
Florida
Georgia X X X X
Guam X X X X
Hawaii
iowa X X X X
idaho X X X X
Indiana ' X
llincis X X
Kansas
Kentucky X
Louisiana X X X X
Maine X X X X
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi X X X X
Missouri X X X X
Montana X X X X
Nebraska X X X X
New Hampshire X X X X
New lersey
New Mexico X X X X
New York
North Carolina X X X X
North Dakota X X X X
Nevada X X X X
Ohio X X X
Okiahoma X X X
Oregon * X X
Pennsylvania X X X X
Rhode Island X X X X
South Carolina X X X X
Tennessee
Texas
South Dakota X X X
Utah X X X X
Vermont
Virginia X X X X
Washington * X X X
West Virginia ‘ X X X X
Wisconsin )
Wyoming X X X X

* _ Gives Hair designer/ Hairdressing exam



