Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology Facility Application

Please provide the following information:

Type of Facility: Opening Date

Threading | Inspector

O

Alternative Hair Design License/Permit #

Tax ldentification #

Initial License: A $55.00 check or money order will be collected by the inspector at the time of the
initial inspection. ($25.00 for the inspection and $30.00 for the “license”)

Initial License for out of state owner: A $115.00 check or money order will be collected by the
inspector at the time of the initial inspection. ($25.00 for the inspection and $65.00 for the “license” and
$25.00 for the manager’s license)

***A copy of your operator’s license must be present during the initial inspection. You must first
apply for your occupational license through the city/parish if it is required. (Contact local parish office)

PLEASE PRINT

NAME OF FACILITY

NAME OF OWNER

FACILITY PHYSICAL ADDRESS

FACILITY MAILING ADDRESS

FACILITY TELEPHONE NUMBER OWNER’S TAX ID NUMBER

*****To schedule your initial inspection please contact the inspector assigned to the specific
parish that your facility is located. (SEE ATTACHED) Please have this form and payment filled out
prior to the inspection to avoid any processing delays. Additionally, you must have your facility
set up with all required equipment and tools when the inspector arrives for your inspection.
Failure to meet requirements will result in a rescheduling at a $25.00 cost.



Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology Facility Application

Threading Facilities:

Threading is the only service allowed in a threading facility. Threading shall not be
performed in any threading facility or salon unless the following items are available for

use:
1. Hand washing sink; 7. thread;
2. hot and cold running water; 8. towels;
3. stool for operator and chair for 9. covered waste bins; and
client; )
10. covered container for towels;
4. lamp;

11. first aid kit and
5. sanitizers or sterilizers for

implements; 12. Gold Book (rule book)

6. blood spill kit
Threading Facility Requirements:

1. Submit a completed facility application along with required fees and
documentation.

2. Adhere to all safety and sanitation requirements of L.A.C. 46:XXXI.700(A-R)
which are applicable to a threading facility.

3. Certify that all persons employed and/or performing services are
appropriately licensed by this board.

4. Provide only services that fall within the scope of threading as defined in
L.A.C. 46:XXXI.1110 (A).

5. Athreading facility owner, who is not a licensed cosmetologist or an
esthetician or permitted as a threader, shall employ one or more registered
managers who shall be licensed as cosmetologists or estheticians or
permitted as a threader. A registered manager shall be present at the facility
during all hours of operation and shall be responsible for ensuring that all
persons practicing threading within the facility are appropriately licensed and
follow all applicable laws and rules and regulations. A threading facility owner
who is absent from his respective facility more than two working days per
week shall employ a manager, who shall be a registered cosmetologist or an
esthetician or a permitted threader and who shall obtain a certificate of
registration as a manager.



Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology Facility Application

Alternative Hair Design Facility (AHD)

Alternative hair design services are the only services allowed in an alternative hair design
facility. Alternative hair design (AHD) services shall not be performed in any facility or salon
unless the following items are available for use or displayed:

1. At least one sign with lettering of 7. One or more hair dryer(s) and a
at least 3 inches that states “NO blow dryer.
CHEMICAL SERVICES ALLOWED” 8. Workstation for each operator
2. One or more shampoo bowil(s) with adequate workspace for tools
with hot and cold running water and product.
and an adjustable chair. 9. One enclosed and labeled storage
3. An operational restroom with a area for clean towels.
sink for hand washing with hot and 10. One covered and labeled container
cold running water. for soiled towels.
4. Atleast 1 heat resistant braiding 11. One covered and labeled trash
bib for every operator providing container maintained in a sanitary
the applicable service. manner.
5. Kettle (for dipping braids) 12. Blood spill kit
6. One large sanitation center or a 13. First aid kit
wet and dry sanitizer at each 14. Gold Book
station.

AHD Facility Requirements:

1. Submit a completed facility application along with required fees and
documentation to the inspector.

2. Adhere to all safety and sanitation requirements of L.A.C. 46:XXX|.700(A-R).

3. Certify that all persons employed and/or performing services are appropriately
license/permitted by this board. There shall be no training in the facility.

4. Provide only services that fall within the scope of AHD as defined in L.A.C.
46:XXX1.101 (A).

5. An AHD owner shall be a registered cosmetologist, a current holder of an AHD
permit, or owner shall employ a manager that is either a cosmetologist or a
current holder of an AHD permit and obtain a certificate of registration as a
manager. A registered manager shall be present at the facility during all hours of
operation and shall be responsible for ensuring that all persons practicing AHD
within the facility are appropriately licensed/permitted and follow all applicable
laws, rules and regulations. Also, an AHD facility owner who is absent from his
respective facility more than two working days per week shall employ a manager,
who shall be a registered cosmetologist or hold an AHD permit and who shall
obtain a certificate of registration as a manager.



