Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LSBC Bulletin

Models for Esthetics Testing
Reciprocity
Reciprocity Changes
Reminder for Opening a New Salon
Student's Notice
Notice: Transfering License to Louisiana

Frequently Asked Questions

Student Information

 











 

 Why does my school have to schedule my exams?

Cosmetology schools must report submit several reports to the Board Office stating that the student has met all requirements to take exam. 
 

How long does it take for me to get an exam date?

It usually takes about 7-10 days from the date the board office receives the request to take this examination.
 

Why is my initial license mailed to the school instead of my home address?

Cosmetology schools must have this information for their files.  It assists them in complying with a federal law that requires them to provide exam pass-fail information.
 

How long does it take for me to find out if I passed my exam?

Within 2 weeks from the date of exam, your school should receive your exam results.
The Board is researching some options to speed this process.
 

My school representative told me that my education was not from an approved high school, what is an approved education?

We will accept the following:
  • A high school diploma from an approved high school
  • A transcript with a raised seal and signature of principal/administrator
  • Official transcript showing a passing score of a US Department of Education approved Ability-To-Benefit Test
  • A GED diploma or official transcript with a raised seal showing passing scores
The following do not meet the required proof of education:
A high school diploma or completion of a Home Study program
According to the Louisiana Department of Education in its 2005-2006
SBESE-Approved Home Study Program Guidelines and Application
 

Can I transfer from my current cosmetology school to another cosmetology school?

Yes, however, all financial obligations must be paid to the school you are currently attending before you are released to transfer.  The new school has several options:
  • To accept all of your hours earned in the previous school
  • To accept a portion of the hours previously earned
  • To accept none of the hours previously earned
 

Can you tell me my test score?

Test scores are processed within ten (10) business days and are forwarded to the school. Under no circumstances will the LSBC provide this information to anyone other than the school administration.
 

What is my test date?

Once all required paperwork and monies have been received and processed a perspective test date is issued and this information is forwarded to the school via fax and mail. The student is then contacted by the school.
 

What can I wear to the examination?

The proper attire is stated on the clearance letter that comes to the school. Students are permitted to wear all black or all white uniforms. Shoes should be closed in toe with a rubber sole and clean.
 

How do I reschedule a test date or retake?

Contact the school and inform them first. Any date that has already been issued and needs to be rescheduled will subject an administrative fee of $25. The fee for a retake exam is $25 (if the student is retaking or rescheduling the national and state exam the fee is $50 for both test.)
 

Can I have a breakdown of my test scores?

Breakdowns are available upon written request. This request can be submitted via fax.
 

What portions of the test do I have to retake if I failed?

A student is only required to retake the phase of which they failed. However some phases have more than one portion. E.g. Cosmetology practical wet work phase has 4 portions. If you fail the wet work phase you will restart on all portions.
 

How long are my hours valid?

If you have completed the mandatory hours and met your financial obligation to your school for the course study, your hours are yours. If you have not completed the mandatory hours and it has been six years since your last attempt at the written examinations, yours hours became invalid.
 

What is the cost of the examinations?

Theory (written)
  • National-$25.00
  • State-$25.00
  • Practical-$25.00
  • Initial License-$25.00

This brings the total to one hundred dollars for the initial examination. The monies must be submitted by the school for all examinations.

Can you tell me my test score?
 
 
11622 Sunbelt Court Baton Rouge, LA 70809 866-257-7901 (toll free) 225-756-3404 (local) 225-756-3410 (fax)